Social plan signed at Tullett Prebon Luxembourg

Back on 9 November, ALEBA announced that the negotiations on the social plan at Tullett Prebon Luxembourg had not culminated in agreement and that the Office National de Conciliation had been informed accordingly.

However, on Tuesday, 21 November 2017 – at the eleventh hour in the conciliation process – the 14 employees, staff delegates, and their union ALEBA reached agreement with company representatives and a social plan was signed. Under the plan, each employee will receive a very substantial outplacement and training budget amounting to EUR 16,000 as well as severance pay calculated on the basis of age and length of service – up to 30 years in the case of some employees.

The negotiations were protracted and intense, as the employees feel they were misled by their employer.

Tullett Prebon Luxembourg, which still had around 40 employees in 2012, reduced its workforce and also put enormous pressure on some employees to accept a reduction in their salaries in order to “save” their jobs as well as Tullett Prebon’s Luxembourg operation. The employees now say that not only were all of these sacrifices made in vain but worst of all that the sacrifices had an adverse impact on the calculation of unemployment benefit and re-employment support.

ALEBA advises employees who find themselves in a similar position to be on guard and hopes that Tullett Prebon Luxembourg will serve as an example to other employees and will not be repeated.

 

Press release on November 23, 2017

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

 

Contacts for the Tullett Prebon case:

Alessandra Giuliano, Head of Coordination (Alessandra.GIULIANO@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 304)

Felix Walisch, Coordination (felix.walisch@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)

Sozialplan bei Tullett Prebon Luxembourg unterzeichnet

Zur Erinnerung: Am 9. November hatte die ALEBA mitgeteilt, dass die Verhandlungen über einen Sozialplan bei Tullett Prebon Luxembourg zu keiner Übereinkunft geführt hatten und dass deshalb das Office National de Conciliation eingeschaltet worden war.

Am Dienstag, 21. November 2017, im letzten Augenblick des Schlichtungsverfahrens, haben die 14 Beschäftigten, die Personaldelegation und die ALEBA als ihre Gewerkschaft mit den Vertretern der Gesellschaft eine Übereinkunft getroffen und einen Sozialplan unterzeichnet. Nach diesem Sozialplan verfügt jeder Arbeitnehmer über ein sehr hohes Outplacement- und Fortbildungsbudget in Höhe von 16.000 € sowie über eine nach seinem Alter und seiner Betriebszugehörigkeit, die bei manchen Arbeitnehmern bei 30 Jahren liegt, berechneten Abfindung.

Die Verhandlungen waren lang und intensiv, da sich die Beschäftigten von ihrem Arbeitgeber betrogen fühlten.

Wie bereits mitgeteilt, reduzierte Tullett Prebon Luxembourg, das im Jahr 2012 noch an die vierzig Mitarbeiter zählte, sein Personal und übte zudem enormen Druck auf einige Beschäftigte aus, damit diese Gehaltskürzungen akzeptierten, um ihre Arbeitsplätze und den Standort Luxemburg von Tullett Prebon zu „retten“. Heute stellen die Arbeitnehmer nicht nur fest, dass alle ihre Opfer umsonst waren, sondern schlimmer noch, dass sie sich negativ auf die Berechnung einer eventuellen Arbeitslosenunterstützung und der Hilfe zur Wiedereingliederung auswirken.

Die ALEBA warnt alle Arbeitnehmer, die sich in einer vergleichbaren Situation befinden, vor derartigen Schritten, und hofft, dass der Fall Tullett Prebon Luxembourg für alle anderen Arbeitnehmer als abschreckendes Beispiel wirkt und sich nicht wiederholt.

 

Pressemitteilung 23. November 2017.

 

Pressekontakte:

Laurent Mertz, Generalsekretär (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Hinsichtlich des Falls Tullett Prebon:

Alessandra Giuliano, Head of Coordination (Alessandra.GIULIANO@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 304)

Felix Walisch, Koordination (felix.walisch@aleba.lu / +352 223 228 1)