Banque Hapoalim Luxembourg announces the loss of around 30 jobs: negotiation of a social plan

ALEBA has been invited to participate in negotiations on a social plan that could affect around 30 jobs. An initial meeting with management of the Israeli bank takes place tomorrow, Wednesday 29 November.

Based on our information it appears that the Board of Directors of the Israel-based group decided in September to cease all private banking activities in Switzerland and Luxembourg.

The group’s two entities with a presence in Luxembourg, i.e. Bank Hapoalim (Switzerland) Ltd, Luxembourg Branch and Banque Hapoalim (Luxembourg) S.A., are affected by this decision and around 30 employees out of a current workforce of 45 are at risk of losing their job. These employees have contributed to the Bank’s success in the Luxembourg financial marketplace, in some cases for decades.

This is the fifth social plan ALEBA has negotiated since the start of 2017 and 169 employees have been made redundant. The leading trade union in the financial sector regrets this sad record for 2017 – the main victims of which are, of course, the employees.

 

Press release of the 28th November 2017. 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

Die Banque Hapoalim Luxembourg kündigt Streichung von dreißig Stellen an: Verhandlungen über Sozialplan

Die ALEBA wurde zur Teilnahme an Verhandlungen über einen Sozialplan eingeladen, der dreißig Arbeitsplätze betreffen könnte. Das erste Treffen mit der Direktion der israelischen Bank findet morgen Mittwoch, 29. November, statt.

Nach unseren Informationen scheint der Verwaltungsrat der in Israel beheimateten Gruppe im September entschieden zu haben, alle seine Private-banking-Aktivitäten in der Schweiz und in Luxemburg einzustellen.

Die beiden in Luxemburg ansässigen Einheiten der Gruppe, das heißt die Bank Hapoalim (Switzerland) Ltd, Luxembourg Branch, sowie die Banque Hapoalim (Luxembourg) S.A., sind von dieser Entscheidung betroffen und etwa 30 der derzeit 45 bestehenden Beschäftigten laufen Gefahr, ihren Arbeitsplatz zu verlieren. Manche dieser Arbeitnehmer haben seit mehreren Jahrzehnten zur Prosperität der Bank am Finanzplatz Luxemburg beigetragen.

Es ist bereits der fünfte Sozialplan, den die ALEBA seit Jahresbeginn 2017 aushandelt und 169 Arbeitnehmer wurden entlassen. Die größte Gewerkschaft des Finanzplatzes bedauert diese traurige Bilanz des Jahres 2017, deren erste Opfer natürlich die Arbeitnehmer sind.

 

Pressemitteilung 28. November 2017 

Pressekontakte:

Laurent Mertz, Generalsekretär (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)