Bank CLA: clarification from ALEBA

PRESS RELEASE :

Bank CLA: clarification from ALEBA

ALEBA is aware of the letter sent by the union OGBL on Monday 7 May 2018, regarding the ongoing negotiations of the new Collective Labour Agreement for Bank Employees. “What we take issue with above all,” stated Secretary General Laurent Mertz, “is the lack of loyalty, which poses a real threat to the negotiations. Indeed, there was a consensus, on paper, at common trade union front level that there should be discretion as to the content of discussions, and it is very disappointing that OGBL did not keep its promise on what were probably purely electoral grounds. The discussions are technical, wide-ranging and complex, and shining a spotlight on them at this point is not helpful. It is not at all in the best interests of employees in the sector. However, it does speak volumes as regards OGBL’s willingness to actually achieve our goals.”

ALEBA does not therefore wish to comment on the substance of the information published by the socialist union. However, the largest union in the financial sector would nevertheless like to make clear that although the initial shared demands have not yet been completely met, ABBL did change its opinion on certain points, understanding and aligning itself, albeit partially, with several legitimate union demands. “Naturally, the new Collective Labour Agreement will differ in a fundamental way from the previous version. But, is that not also what we were striving for: a modern, simplified contract that takes account of the changing nature of banking sector professions? On the financial front, each party has had to make concessions, but that is all part and parcel of the negotiation process. For ALEBA, an organisation that prides itself on being constructive and open-minded, this is not a problem as long as the spirit of our demands is respected and concessions are reciprocal.”

Indeed, ALEBA wishes to reiterate that the negotiations form a “whole” and that although certain matters are still under discussion and common ground remains to be found, other developments, particularly with regard to remuneration, represent a real opportunity for sector employees. “If we consider, for example, what is expected to replace the June Bonus, it is certain that no one will miss out, quite the contrary,” added Laurent Mertz, replacing Gilles Steichen during his foreign posting. “Yes, the approach is different, but for those who wish to progress, to broaden their skillset and to train for the needs of tomorrow, this new collective agreement will be an opportunity to embrace. There will of course be safeguards to ensure that everyone has a place in the new system and that no one is left on the sidelines. We are making sure of that.

With regard to working hours, training and even well-being, ALEBA has expressed regret that a lack of understanding of the reality of employees of the financial sector could lead the Central Socialist Trade Union to misunderstand current issues, and to confine itself to backward-looking positions. “For ALEBA, the new Collective Agreement must unquestionably work in favour of sector employees, particularly by helping to enable them, in the medium and long term, to overcome the challenges facing banks in Luxembourg. This is part of our trade union responsibility, and at ALEBA it is not something that we will ignore. It occasionally leads to a different approach, but it in no way questions or challenges the values we uphold, or threatens strict compliance with legislation, specifically on working hours, for example. This is a firm commitment that we make to all employees in the sector, and we will not allow the Collective Agreement to be cheapened.”

For ALEBA, therefore, it remains obvious that ABBL still has to think over several sticking points, and this is also a reason for the extension of the discussions. These alternative proposals must be put forward by the employers’ association as soon as possible, as the June Bonus payment period will soon be upon us.

Finally, ALEBA notes that each trade union organisation will, at a given moment, and perhaps quite soon, be faced with their responsibilities, meaning that they will be free to support, or not, the new Collective Labour Agreement for Bank Employees. “I of course expect that those who currently question the work carried out over the past 18 months will come to their senses or in their own time truly and honestly assume their responsibilities. We must all respect that. But it is not always possible to bite the hand that feeds us, cry wolf and then in the end sign anyway, as was again the case in June 2017. Employees in the sector deserve a much more responsible attitude,” concluded Laurent Mertz, who reiterated that ALEBA is able to sign a Collective Agreement alone, owing to the extent of its sectoral representation.

 

 

Press contacts:

Laurent Mertz, Secretary General (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)

Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)

CCT Banques : mise au point de l’ALEBA

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE :

CCT Banques : mise au point de l’ALEBA

 

L’ALEBA a pris connaissance de la communication du syndicat OGBL de ce lundi 7 mai 2018, relative aux négociations de la nouvelle Convention Collective des Banques, toujours en cours. « Ce que nous déplorons avant tout, indique le Secrétaire Général Laurent Mertz, c’est le manque de loyauté, qui met en réel danger les négociations. Au niveau du front commun syndical il y avait en effet, sur la forme, un consensus sur la discrétion à conserver au niveau du contenu des discussions, et c’est vraiment très décevant que, pour des motifs probablement uniquement et purement électoralistes, l’OGBL n’ait pas respecté sa promesse. Les discussions sont techniques, vastes, complexes, et en faire étalage est à ce stade inutile. Cela ne sert en aucun cas les intérêts des salariés du secteur. C’est par contre assez révélateur de la volonté de l’OGBL d’aboutir réellement à quelque chose…».

Sur le fond, l’ALEBA ne souhaite donc pas commenter les informations publiées par le syndicat socialiste. Mais le syndicat majoritaire du secteur financier tient tout de même à préciser que si les revendications initiales communes ne sont en effet pas toujours totalement satisfaites, l’ABBL a su changer d’avis sur certains points, en comprenant et en s’alignant, même partiellement, sur plusieurs demandes syndicales légitimes. « Evidemment, la nouvelle Convention Collective de Travail sera fondamentalement différente de la précédente. Mais n’est-ce pas aussi ce que nous-mêmes souhaitions, un contrat modernisé, simplifié, qui tient davantage compte de l’évolution des métiers du secteur bancaire ? Sur le volet financier, chaque partie a du faire des concessions, mais c’est le propre des négociations. Pour l’ALEBA, dont l’ADN est la constructivité et l’ouverture d’esprit, ce n’est d’ailleurs pas un problème, à partir du moment où l’esprit de nos revendications est respecté, et que les concessions sont réciproques ».

L’ALEBA rappelle en effet que les négociations sont un « tout », et que si certains points sont encore en discussion et que des convergences restent à trouver, d’autres nouveaux éléments, notamment en termes de rémunération, représentent une réelle opportunité pour les salariés du secteur. «Si on considère par exemple ce qui devrait remplacer la Prime de Juin, il est certain que personne n’y perdra, au contraire » ajoute Laurent Mertz, remplaçant Gilles Steichen en déplacement à l’étranger. Oui, l’approche est différente, mais pour qui veut évoluer, a envie d’augmenter ses compétences et accepte de se former aux besoins de demain, cette nouvelle convention collective sera une chance à saisir. Les garde fous ne manqueront d’ailleurs pas pour s’assurer que chacun a bien sa place dans le nouveau système, que personne ne reste sur le carreau. Nous y veillons. ».

En ce qui concerne le temps de travail, la formation ou encore le bien-être par exemples, l’ALEBA regrette que la méconnaissance de la réalité des salariés du secteur financier puisse amener la Centrale du syndicat socialiste à ne pas comprendre les enjeux actuels, et à se limiter à des positions passéistes. « Pour l’ALEBA, la nouvelle Convention Collective doit nécessairement être en faveur des salariés du secteur, notamment en contribuant à permettre à ceux-ci, à moyen et à long terme, de relever les défis qui attendent les banques de la Place financière de Luxembourg. Notre responsabilité syndicale inclut cette considération, et du côté de l’ALEBA on ne compte pas passer à côté. Cela induit une approche parfois différente, mais qui ne remet en aucun cas en question ou en cause les valeurs que nous défendons, et bien entendu pas le strict respect de la législation, spécialement sur le temps de travail par exemple. C’est notre engagement très ferme vis-à-vis de tous les salariés du secteur, tout comme nous n’accepterons pas que le contrat collectif soit bradé».

Pour l’ALEBA, il demeure ainsi évident que l’ABBL doit encore réfléchir à plusieurs éléments bloquants, et c’est aussi une raison de la prolongation des discussions. Ces propositions alternatives doivent encore être mises sur table par l’association patronale dans les meilleurs délais, puisque s’annonce la période du paiement de la Prime de Juin.

 Enfin, du côté de l’ALEBA, on note que chaque organisation syndicale sera à un moment donné, et peut-être même rapidement, face à ses responsabilités, c’est à dire libre de soutenir, ou pas, la nouvelle Convention Collective des Banques. « J’attends bien entendu que ceux qui aujourd’hui remettent en question le travail réalisé depuis un an et demi retrouvent raison, ou prennent alors en son temps vraiment et honnêtement leurs responsabilités. Tous nous devrons respecter cela. Mais on ne peut pas toujours cracher dans la soupe et crier au loup, pour finalement venir quand même signer, comme ce fut encore le cas en juin 2017. Les salariés du secteur méritent une attitude bien plus responsable» conclut Laurent Mertz, qui rappelle que l’ALEBA peut signer seule une Convention collective, fonction de sa représentativité sectorielle.

Luxembourg, le 7 mai 2018

Contacts presse :
Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général (laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com / +352 621 232 295)
Sandra Carvalho, Head of Communications & Strategy (sandra.carvalho@aleba.lu / +352 671 223 228)