BIL: ALEBA is keeping watch

ALEBA has noted the sale by Precision Capital of its majority stake in Banque Internationale à Luxembourg (BIL) to the Chinese company Legend Holdings Corporation, as announced by the various parties in the afternoon of Friday 1 September.

ALEBA will, of course, keep a close watch on the completion of this deal and its practical impact, notably through ALEBA Employee Representatives, the majority of whom are on the ground at BIL, and represent staff at all levels, including on the Bank’s Board of Directors.

For ALEBA, this will above all consist in ensuring that the promises concerning job protection over the next three years made last August by BIL’s Management are honoured by the new majority shareholder.

ALEBA will also ensure that the latter complies fully with Luxembourg employment law: “in a number of recent cases, we have observed that some foreign investors were acting or sought to act as it suited them, and sometimes even in a cavalier fashion, as can be the case in some Anglophone contexts. There is obviously no question of that here, and ALEBA, as the largest union for financial sector professionals, shall make sure of that”, stated Secretary General Laurent Mertz, who nevertheless welcomed Legend Holdings Corporation to the top table of the marketplace’s second largest bank in terms of employment.

***

Press contact: Laurent Mertz, General Secretary , Communications Officer

[email protected] / +352 621 232 295

BIL : vigilance du côté de l’ALEBA

L’ALEBA prend note de la cession par Precision Capital au chinois Legend Holdings Corporation de sa participation majoritaire dans la Banque Internationale à Luxembourg (BIL), ainsi que les différentes parties l’ont annoncé, ce vendredi 1er septembre après-midi.

L’ALEBA va évidemment suivre de très près la finalisation de cet accord et ses impacts concrets, notamment via ses Délégués du Personnel ALEBA, majoritaires sur le terrain chez BIL, et actifs à tous les niveaux de représentation du Personnel, en ce compris au Conseil d’Administration de la Banque.

Pour l’ALEBA, il s’agira tout d’abord que les promesses en ce qui concerne le maintien de l’emploi dans les trois prochaines années, exprimées en août dernier par la Direction de BIL, soient strictement respectées par le nouvel actionnaire majoritaire.
L’ALEBA s’assurera également à ce que ce dernier respecte également scrupuleusement le droit du travail luxembourgeois : « dans un certain nombre de dossiers récents, nous avons en effet constaté que des investisseurs étrangers agissaient ou voulaient agir comme cela les arrangeait, et parfois même à la hussarde, comme ce peut être le cas dans des environnements anglo-saxons. Il n’en n’est ici évidemment pas question, et l’ALEBA, en tant que premier syndicat du secteur financier, y veillera » a précisé le Secrétaire Général, Laurent Mertz, en souhaitant néanmoins la bienvenue à Legend Holdings Corporation à la tête de la seconde banque de la Place en terme d’emplois.

Luxembourg, le 4 septembre 2017

***

Contact presse : Laurent Mertz, Secrétaire Général, Responsable Communication
laurent.mertz@kbl-bank.com – +352 621 232 295